caught in a pool
trapped
an animal in a zoo
going back and forth
over the same small yard
forever
carrying me forward
and back
pulling me under
then pushing me up
just as my lungs are ready to explode
with the need
the need to breathe.

while I let go
of my only buoy
to try to swim with them
rather than fight them
but then people seem
to think I’ve given up
I need to be rescued.

but I do not.

I just need to swim on my own
with the waves for a while.

let the waves recede with me to the beach of their birth
then push me into the concrete wall of their death.

these waves are not free
they do not get to die
the
slow
natural
death
of
shallowing
crest
and
trough
across
a
vast
ocean
of
their
brethren.

they are trapped beasts
that die a violent early death
against a concrete wall.

Leave a Reply

