Nightmare

bright streaks of lights
are these the fires of hell
is this a door
or a portal
Am I drunk again?
Or is this a nightmare.
wet dark paths
twisting yellow lines
a brick road home
where i can finally expire
or another false guide
Am I drunk again?
Or is this a nightmare.
wondering for hours
searching for another ounce
of heat to warm my belly
cheeks are red
from devil’s kisses
Am I drunk?
Or is this a nightmare.
feet so heavy
made of lead
heart of stone
stones in my head
air too thick to breathe
Am I drunk again?
Or is this a nightmare.
morals weak
demons hunched over cups
surrounded on all sides
clearly not a place
where angels could reside
Am I drunk?
Or is this a nightmare.

Leave a Reply

